From the Archives: DMSC's 75th Anniversary, December 1999

This article was orignally published on the DMSC website following the commemorations in December 1999.

On Friday, 3 December through to Sunday, 5 December, DMSC celebrated 75 years of education for the people of Dimboola. Nearly 1100 former students and staff attended, out of a possible 5000. The picture below show just some of the activities around the school.

There was a room allocated to each decade. In each room memorabilia was displayed: uniforms, photos, reports and so on. It was a great success.

75th Anniversary Cake (decorated by Margaret Menzel, from the '50s)


View inside the main tent

Cutting the cake (Colin Baker, Sharelle Bamford, Malcolm Miller)

School Band conducted by Jill Walsgott

There were the necessary speeches:


Introduction of official guests by John Taylor (Anniversary Committee Chairman)

Official welcome by John Saxton (School Council President)

Sharelle Bamford and Jason Shanaughan (College Captains)

Cr Darryl Argall (Hindmarsh Shire President)

Malcolm Miller (Department of Education, Regional General Manager)

Iain McNee (College Principal)

Three people were inducted into the DMSC Hall of Fame. They were Tim Shanahan, Vaughan Werner and Bill McKenzie.

Iain McNee, Bill McKenzie and Vaughan Werner

The college's Rock Band entertained the guests in the evening


Catering for over 700 guests was not an easy job. It was admirably organised by Sue Ward with help from many people.

Coleslaw!! Have you ever seen so much coleslaw? The esky was about 1.5 m wide, 1 m deep and 1 m high.

Mixing up the Potato salad.

The main tent.

Memorial Rededication

Dimboola Memorial Secondary College has the unique distinction of being the only secondary school that is a memorial to those who fought and died for Australia in world conflicts. A history is given elsewhere on this web site.

As part of the anniversary celebrations, the school was rededicated as a memorial. A plaque was unveiled, and wreaths laid at the memorial flag pole and at the Matron Paschke Memorial. The guest speaker was RSL State President, Bruce Ruxton.

Laying wreaths at the flag pole


The official party that laid wreaths


Bruce Ruxton

Bruce Ruxton unveiling the plaque

The plaque reads: 'In memory of those who served in defence of our nation rededicated on the 4th of December 1999 to commemorate the 75th anniversary of this memorial.'

Ray Hutchison (President, Dimboola RSL)

Fr Ross Davies (Rededicated the memorial)


Guard of Honour


Group photos were taken of the attendees for each decade. Some groups are shown below.

1920s and 1930s













post PO Box 40 | Dimboola | Victoria, 3414
phone 03 5389 1460
facsimilie 03 5389 1981
Website Developed and Maintained by
Wangara Consulting